The University of Massachusetts Amherst
University of Massachusetts Amherst

Search Google Appliance


Five Engineering Faculty Named ADVANCE Fellows

UMass ADVANCE has announced the 2020-2021 cohort of ADVANCE Faculty Fellows, and it includes five engineering faculty:


  • Seth Donahue, BME
  • Marco Duarte, ECE
  • Kara Peterman, CEE
  • Jessica Schiffman, ChE
  • Yanfei Xu, MIE

These fellows will partner with the UMass ADVANCE leadership team to promote gender equity for faculty at UMass. Through a combination of research, programming, and interventions UMass ADVANCE seeks to understand and address systemic and intersectional inequalities to lay the groundwork for a fairer, more equitable, diverse and inclusive campus.  UMass ADVANCE’s theme for the upcoming program year is “Inclusion and Equity Amid COVID-19.”


“We look forward to engaging this year’s fellows,” said Laurel Smith-Doerr, Principal Investigator for the National Science Foundation (NSF) ADVANCE Grant. “The ADVANCE Faculty Fellows play a critical role in the work we are doing. Together we will learn from each other at a time when departments and colleges are striving to create and sustain not only gender equity for their faculty, but new priorities for addressing systemic racism in the sciences.”


For more information on UMass ADVANCE Faculty Fellows go to:

Follow UMass Chemical Engineering: