The University of Massachusetts Amherst
University of Massachusetts Amherst

Search Google Appliance


Rothstein and Lee Selected as Outstanding Faculty

Jonathan Rothstein (left) and Jungwoo Lee (right)

Jonathan Rothstein, Jungwoo Lee

Professors Jonathan Rothstein and Jungwoo Lee have been selected as outstanding faculty in the College of Engineering in 2020. These selections were made through the hard work of a college-level faculty selection committee.

Prof. Jonathan Rothstein, mechanical engineering, was selected for the 2020 Outstanding Senior Faculty Award based on his high level of research productivity while also shouldering an exceptionally large teaching and service load. Prof. Rothstein has recently authored twelve journal articles that were published in top journals. Beyond UMass, Prof. Rothstein established an annual K-12 outreach event held at the Society of Rheology Annual Meeting, and has participated in the Science Quest and Women in Engineering events since 2013. He has also taught middle and high school students in an annual week long STEM Nanotechnology Summer Institute.

Assistant Professor Jungwoo Lee, chemical engineering, has been named the Barbara H. and Joseph I. Goldstein Outstanding Jr Faculty Award for 2020. Dr. Lee was recognized for his contributions in translational biomaterials research, teaching large courses in Separations and Tissue Engineering, and for his service as Director of the Chemical Engineering Honors Program. He has received a prestigious NIH R01Award and the NSF Career Award for his research studying implantable tumor cell microenvironments and in vitro trabecular bone marrow models. Dr. Lee’s passion for mentoring students is also exceptional, including 30 undergraduate students who have worked in his lab. (April 2020)

Follow UMass Chemical Engineering: