The University of Massachusetts Amherst
University of Massachusetts Amherst

Search Google Appliance


Six Engineering Students Receive UMass Alumni Association Awards and Scholarships

The University of Massachusetts Amherst Alumni Association has announced the recipients of its annual student scholarships and awards, and six high-achieving undergraduates from the College of Engineering were among them. The engineering recipients were: Industrial Engineering major Avery Stroman ’16, who won a $750 Alumni Merit-Based SAA Scholarship; Mechanical Engineering major Aaron Annan '15, Computer System Engineering major Michael Bjorge '15, Civil Engineering major Marissa Shea '15, and Chemical Engineering major Marianne Sleiman '15, who all received $750 William F. Field Alumni Scholarships; and Electrical Engineering major Joshua Hodge ’14, who received a $500 Senior Leadership Award.

The Alumni Association will be hosting a Scholarship and Awards Reception on Sunday, April 6, at 10 a.m. in the Marriott Center to honor all of this year’s recipients. The students and their parents are invited. 

According the Alumni Association, the Alumni Merit-Based SAA Scholarship recognizes a Student Alumni Association member who demonstrates outstanding leadership in the Student Alumni Association and within the larger university community.

The 10 Senior Leadership Awards recognize graduating seniors who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and service to the UMass Amherst community. Award recipients have distinguished themselves through important contributions to student organizations and campus jobs, through academic excellence, and through public and community service. The recipients are selected by the deans of the schools and colleges.

The William F. Field Alumni Scholars Program was established in 1976 to recognize and honor third-year students for their academic achievements at UMass Amherst. The program was named in honor of William F. Field, the university’s first Dean of Students, for his outstanding support of academic excellence and his personal commitment to bringing out the best in every student. The 56 recipients are selected by the deans of the schools and colleges. (March 2014)

Follow UMass Chemical Engineering: