The University of Massachusetts Amherst
University of Massachusetts Amherst

Search Google Appliance



Marianne Sleiman, a junior chemical engineering major from Greenville, Rhode Island, is one of three Commonwealth Honors College students at the University of Massachusetts Amherst to receive scholarships for work in the natural sciences and engineering as part of the highly competitive Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program. Goldwater scholarships are intended to foster and encourage outstanding students to pursue careers in the fields of mathematics, the natural sciences, and engineering.

UMass Amherst and College of Engineering Alumnus Barry Bahram Siadat was the recipient of a University of Massachusetts Distinguished Achievement Award at the university’s Undergraduate Commencement Ceremony on Friday, May 9, in McGuirk Alumni Stadium. Dr. Siadat earned his M.S. in Polymer Science and Engineering in 1977 and his Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering in 1979 from UMass Amherst. He is the co-founder, president and managing director of SK Capital Partners.

Alumnus Bevin Beaudet, the director of Palm Beach County (Florida) Water Utilities Department, has been presented with the National Environmental Achievement Award for Public Service from the National Association of Clean Water Agencies (NACWA). Beaudet earned his Chemical Engineering B.S. at UMass Amherst in 1969. The National Environmental Achievement Awards annually recognize individuals and NACWA member agencies that have made outstanding contributions to environmental protection and wastewater management.

Two very well qualified graduate students in the College of Engineering – Alyssa Schwartz of the Chemical Engineering (ChE) Department and Angela Berthaume of the Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE) Department – won ultra-competitive National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships this year. ChE Professor Shelly Peyton is the Ph.D. advisor for Schwartz, and CEE Professor Behrouz Shafei advises Berthaume. These two talented grad students were joined by two recent alumni from the ChE department who received NSF fellowships elsewhere.

The ninth annual University of Massachusetts Innovation Challenge final business plan competition was held on April 7. The event culminated in awards to five competing teams from a prize pool of $50,000 provided by private sector contributions as well as two special $5,000 named awards – The David Wolf Prize and The Glass Prize. Rescue Collar won the top prize of $25,000, followed by mDiagnostics which won a total of $15,000. Fiberessence and Nine Brain each won $7,500, while Acne Free, Naturally received $5,250 at the event.

Aura Ganz of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department has been selected to receive the 2014 Outstanding Senior Faculty Award, and Shelly Peyton of the Chemical Engineering Department will receive the 2014 Barbara H. and Joseph I. Goldstein Outstanding Junior Faculty Award. “Their excellent contributions to scholarship and the profession bring distinction to our college,” said Dean Tim Anderson while announcing the annual awards.

Dean Tim Anderson is pleased to announce the appointment of three faculty members and one administrator as the new associate deans for the College of Engineering.

Assistant Professor Wei Fan of the Chemical Engineering Department has been selected to receive the prestigious 3M Non-Tenured Faculty Award from 3M Corporation. The Award recognizes “outstanding new faculty who were selected based on their research, experience, and academic leadership. The purpose of the award is to help the young faculty members achieve tenure, remain in their teaching position, and conduct research.” Fan is a young leader in the field of engineering porous materials as catalysts and carriers for biorefinery and drug delivery.

The American Society of Naval Engineers (ASNE) has presented alumnus Joseph A. Carnevale – a rear admiral in the U.S. Navy retired, the senior defense advisor for the Shipbuilders Council of America, and a 1971 alum of the Chemical Engineering Department – with its 2013 Frank G. Law Award, given annually since 1980 in recognition of long-term significant contributions of service to the society. A longtime supporter of the college, Carnivale has created an endowed scholarship fund here, is a frequent guest speaker, and serves on the UMass Rising Campaign Committee for the D.C. region.

The University of Massachusetts Amherst Alumni Association has announced the recipients of its annual student scholarships and awards, and six high-achieving undergraduates from the College of Engineering were among them. The engineering recipients were: Industrial Engineering major Avery Stroman ’16, who won a $750 Alumni Merit-Based SAA Scholarship; Mechanical Engineering major Aaron Annan '15, Computer System Engineering major Michael Bjorge '15, Civil Engineering major Marissa Shea '15, and Chemical Engineering major Marianne Sleiman '15, who all received $750 William F.


Follow UMass Chemical Engineering: